Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeBASKETBALLWBBL fixtures revealed for Sevenoaks Suns to defend title

WBBL fixtures revealed for Sevenoaks Suns to defend title

The fixtures and competition system for the fifth season of the Women’s British Basketball League (WBBL) has been confirmed.

The opening day of the 2018/19 campaign will be Saturday 29th September, 2018 and just 24 hours later, the WBBL’s newest franchise Essex Rebels will make their eagerly anticipated debut with a south-east derby against WBBL Championship and Play-Off winners, Sevenoaks Suns.

Sevenoaks Suns fixtures for 2018/19

The WBBL Championship season will also involve the usual scramble for the Play-Offs, with the last two teams standing heading to The O2 in London on Sunday 19th May, 2019 for the Final. The single leg Quarter and Semi-Final ties will be played on the weekends of 27/28 April and 4/5 May respectively.

Sevenoaks Suns
The Suns will head to Essex Rebels on the opening weekend of the season before hosting last seasons fierce rivals Leicester Riders the weekend after. Other notable dates in the season include a home game versus Team Northumbria on Saturday 1st December at 6:00pm before heading to London the next day to play BA London Lions in a 2.00pm tip-off. A full list of fixtures can be seen by clicking on the image to the right.

Sevenoaks appear to have a nice group in the WBBL Trophy, with home and away games versus BA London Lions and Essex Rebels in February. Although, we should be reminded that all games in the WBBL are different and each team will demand full respect ahead of any tie.

Round 1 of the WBBL Cup will take place on the weekend of 20/21 October 2018 and will involve the bottom seven teams from last season’s WBBL Championship Table, plus newcomers Essex. They match up based on their league position (for these purposes, Essex are ranked as finishing 12th):

First Round
Manchester (5th) v Essex (12th)
Northumbria (6th) v London (11th)
Caledonia (7th) v Durham (10th)
Cardiff (8th) v Oaklands (9th)

Quarter Final (Single Leg – Open Draw) – 24/25 November 2018
Semi Finals (Single Leg – Open Draw) – 15/16 December 2018

The WBBL Cup Final will take place on Sunday 27th January, 2019 at Arena Birmingham.

WBBL Trophy
The 2018-19 WBBL Trophy will see four groups of three teams split geographically (games to be played between 2 February – 17 February)

North 1 – Caledonia, Durham, Northumbria
North 2 – Manchester, Nottingham, Sheffield
South 1 – London, Essex, Sevenoaks
South 2 – Cardiff, Leicester, Oaklands

Teams will play each other home and away, with the Semi Finals an open draw and single leg ties on the weekend of 23/24 February, 2019.

The WBBL Trophy Final will take place on Sunday 10th March, 2019 at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow.



Most Popular