Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeBASKETBALLSuns move closer to WBBL Championship after win over Leicester

Suns move closer to WBBL Championship after win over Leicester

The Sevenoaks Suns continued their unbeaten season as they moved ever closer to claiming another WBBL Championship after they overcame second place Leicester Riders on Wednesday afternoon.

This defeat was only the second of the season for the Riders, and the defeat was brought on by a phenomenal display by Sevenoaks’ captain Cat Carr, who finished just one assist shy of a triple double.

Carr put up 20 points, 12 rebounds and nine assists, and was provided fantastic help from Ta’Yani Clark, who was also close to a triple-double herself, with 15 points, 12 rebounds and seven assists.

Sevenoaks held their visitors to just 16 points in the second and fourth quarters and it proved a tough afternoon for the Riders with only two players making it into double digits in the game, and a troubled second quarter where the side only managed six points which left them with a mountain to climb to recover the game.

The Championship title now comes down to this weekend, as a Leicester Riders loss to London Lions on Saturday, or anything short of a 13-point loss to Leicester on Sunday, will see Sevenoaks claim their third WBBL Championship title in a row.

Sevenoaks Suns Head Coach Len Busch commented after the game: “I’m really pleased [with today’s result]. It was a phenomenal defensive effort after the first quarter. It was similar to a lot of games that we’ve payed this season, it was a battle. If we go to sleep or we take too many possessions off, then we’re in trouble. But today, they dug in real deep and they did what we had planned to do. I’m happy for the team, they’ve worked hard and they deserved it”. 

Sevenoaks will now travel to Leicester on Sunday with a chance of hopefully wrapping up the Championship. Tip-off is at 4.00pm and will be streamed live on the WBBL YouTube Channel.

Suns scorers: Cat Carr (20), Ta’Yani Clark (15), Lavinia Da Silva (10), Renee Busch (9), Irene Garrido-Perez (7) and Janice Monakana (2).



Most Popular