Sunday, May 26, 2024
HomeCRICKETGearing up for a smashing summer with the greatest show in Kent!

Gearing up for a smashing summer with the greatest show in Kent!

The Smash, Kent’s Premier 100 ball midweek cricket competition, is making a welcome return for its fourth consecutive year as organisers plan to put on the greatest cricket show!

Born in 2021, The Smash 2024 will be its biggest and best yet, with over 40 teams, ranging from Kent Premier League teams to Kent Village League teams, The Smash is catering for cricketers of all abilities.

The guys behind the scenes have also launched The Junior Smash for 2024 which serves to provide junior cricket for boys and girls from U11 to U15 throughout the summer holidays culminating in a finals day at the end of the summer.

About The Smash
The Clark Trophy was discontinued due to the Covid-19 pandemic and the impact of the pandemic on recreational sport.

The concept of the Clark Trophy was to provide midweek 15 over cricket for teams in the Sevenoaks District, whilst aiming to fundraise for local charities.

Three members of Sevenoaks Vine CC agreed to take on the reigns of organising the Clark Trophy, whilst attempting to revamp the competition to appeal to more clubs beyond the Sevenoaks District. In doing so, The Smash was formed.

After only two seasons, The Smash became Kent’s Premier 100 ball midweek cricket competition and entering it’s fourth year in 2024 it remains just that!

In 2023, 42 teams entered the competition. Teams were split into two tiers for the group stages relative to their strength and preferences. Each tier was subsequently split into five regionalised groups.

Following the group stages, the competition split into three knockout competitions: Cup, Plate and Bowl. The Smash retains the spirit of the Clark Trophy raising money for charity. Each year, two charities are chosen. For 2024, Kent Surrey and Sussex Air Ambulance, and Iggy’s Fund will be the competition’s chosen charities. Winners from previous seasons are listed below:

Cup Competition
2023 Winners: Bromley Bears
2022 Winners: Holmesdale Stallions
2021 Winners: Holmesdale Stallions

Plate Competition
2023 Winners: Bromley Town
2022 Winners: Sevenoaks Vine Jazzers
2021 Winners: St Michaels Scorchers

Bowl Competition
2023 Winners: Sevenoaks Rugby Club
2022 Winners: Darenth Valiants

Dartford Cricket Club who play as Hesketh Heat will be out for some revenge in 2024, having been runners up in the Cup for all three of the previous seasons. Good luck to all!



Most Popular