Tuesday, July 16, 2024
HomeBASKETBALLFixtures announced for Sevenoaks Suns 2022/23 WBBL Season

Fixtures announced for Sevenoaks Suns 2022/23 WBBL Season

The countdown to another exhilarating season of Women’s British Basketball League (WBBL) action can begin as the fixtures for the 2022-23 campaign are announced.

The season will begin on Saturday 24th September with a full fixture list across the division on the opening day. Last season’s WBBL champions, London Lions get their season underway with a trip to Oaklands Wolves, whilst two teams from last year’s Play-offs meet as Leicester Riders host Essex Rebels.

The day after sees a huge clash, as London Lions and Sevenoaks Suns do battle once more after the two sides met in the final across two competitions last season. The Suns head to the capital hoping to avenge defeat in last year’s dramatic Play-off Final which was watched by a record-breaking crowd of 10,928 at The O2, London.

This season will see format changes across the WBBL Trophy, Cup and Play-offs competitions.

The WBBL Cup, now a single leg knockout competition featuring all 10 WBBL teams, gets underway in October with First Round matches on Saturday 15th and 16th October, followed by the open draw Quarters and Semis, with the final taking place on Sunday 29th January 2023 at Birmingham’s Utilita Arena.

First Round fixtures, based on Championship seeding from 2021-22, confirmed as follows:

Saturday 15 October 2022

Durham Palatinates (8th) vs Manchester Met Mystics (9th)

Essex Rebels (7th) vs Newcastle Eagles (10th)

Nottingham Wildcats (5th) vs Oaklands Wolves (12th)

Sunday 16 October 2022

Caledonia Gladiators (6th) vs Cardiff Met Archers (11th)

Leicester Riders (4th) vs Gloucester City Queens (13th)

London Lions, Sevenoaks Suns and Sheffield Hatters have received a First Round bye following WBBL Championship placing in the 2021-22 season.

Meanwhile the WBBL Trophy, now a 16 team single-leg knockout bracket format featuring all WBBL teams and three invited non-WBBL teams, begins on the weekend of January 7/8th with a weekend of First Round matches to take place in a centralised venue (TBC). The final takes place late March, with the official date and venue to be confirmed in due course. The three invited non-WBBL teams are:

  • CoLA Southwark Pride
  • Thames Valley Cavaliers
  • Ipswich Basketball

Format changes to this year’s Play-offs will see teams who knockout higher seeded opposition in the quarter-finals gain home advantage in the semi-finals, matches will be single legged throughout. The season will reach its conclusion with the end of season Play-off Finals which are scheduled to take place on Sunday 14th May 2023 at The O2, London.

A reminder that WBBL fans can watch all three showpiece finals from the WBBL Cup, Trophy and Play-offs live on Sky Sports Arena and the Sky Sports YouTube Channel.

Sevenoaks Suns WBBL fixtures in full, home games are in BOLD.

Sunday 25th SeptemberCHAwayLondon Lions
Saturday 1st OctoberCHAwayOaklands Wolves
Saturday 8th OctoberCHHomeNewcastle Eagles
Saturday 22nd OctoberCHAwayCaledonia Gladiators
Saturday 29th OctoberCHHomeGloucester City Queens
Saturday 5th NovemberCHHomeSheffield Hatters
Saturday 12th NovemberCUPQuarters
Saturday 19th NovemberCHHomeLeicester Riders
Saturday 3rd DecemberCHHomeCardiff Met Archers
Saturday 10th DecemberCHAwayEssex Rebels
Saturday 17th DecemberCHAwayDurham Palatinates
Sunday 18th DecemberCUPSemis
Saturday 7th JanuaryTRO1st Round
Saturday 14th JanuaryCHAwayNottingham Wildcats
Saturday 21st JanuaryCHAwayManchester Met Mystics
Sunday 29th JanuaryCUPFinal
Saturday 4th FebruaryCHHomeLondon Lions
Saturday 18th FebruaryCHHomeEssex Rebels
Sunday 19th FebruaryCHAwayGloucester City Queens
Sunday 19th FebruaryTROQuarters
Saturday 25th FebruaryCHHomeManchester Met Mystics
Saturday 4th MarchCHAwayLeicester Riders
Saturday 11th MarchTROSemis
Saturday 18th MarchCHAwayNewcastle Eagles
Sunday 26th MarchTROFinal
Sunday 2nd AprilCHHomeNottingham Wildcats
Saturday 8th AprilCHAwayCardiff Met Archers
Sunday 16th AprilCHHomeCaledonia Gladiators
Saturday 22nd AprilCHAwaySheffield Hatters
Sunday 14th MayPOFinalPlayoff Final at The O2, London


Most Popular